Mikita Badziakouski Wins the $25k in the WPT Online World Championships

Mikita Badziakouski

The poker world is full of distant pinprick stars.

Mikita Badziakouski isn’t one of them.

With more than $28m in live tournament earnings to his name, a few million more playing online tournaments, and a seat in the type of cash games that burn silhouettes into your soul, the light inside ‘Badz’ is ablaze.

Poker record book writers etched another seven-figure score in Badziakouski’s impressive CV, after the partypoker sponsored pro made embers of the 199-entrant field in the $25,500 No-Limit Hold’em event at the World Poker Tour (WPT) World Online Championships on partypoker.

The three-day event ended after Badziakouski cleaned the clock of Jason Koon after the pair agreed upon a heads-up deal that satisfied both parties.

Badziakouski has never made money in a live WPT event.

Here are the final table results.

Final Table Results

  1. Mikita Badziakouski – $1,062,730*
  2. Jason Koon – $810,869*
  3. Alexandros Kolonia – $$548,794
  4. Mark Demirjian – $380,652
  5. Daniel Rezaei – $259,979
  6. Aleksei Barkov – $197,667
  7. Ali Imsirovic – $155,061

*Indicates a heads-up deal

Steve O’Dwyer Wins The Heads-Up

Well before Badziakouski was busy taking down the $25k, Steve O’Dwyer had already locked up the $3,200 WPT Online Championship Heads-Up tournament. The American was the top dog in a field of 166 barking duelists, beating Artem Akhmetvaleyev in the final bracket, earning $135,000.

It’s not the first time that O’Dwyer has won a WPT title.

In 2012, the American won a 289-entrant WPT National in Denmark for €159,227, a few months shy of finishing runner-up to Edoardo Alescio in the Main Event at WPT Venice.

Here are the top eight payouts

Top 8 Payouts

  1. Steve O’Dwyer – $135,000
  2. Artem Akhmetvaleyev – $$75,000
  3. Jorma Nuutinen – $40,000
  4. Allan Berger – $40,000
  5. Joao Vieira – $17,500
  6. Arnaud Enselme – $17,500
  7. Niko Koop – $17,500
  8. Eugenio Peralta – $17,500